Dusky Shiner – Notropis cummingsae

Dusky Shiner - Notropis cummingsae

This Dusky Shiner (Notropis cummingsae) was added to my lifelist during my recent trip into North Carolina.  One of the creeks I checked out was Rockfish Creek near Raeford, NC.  This creek is part of the Upper Cape Fear River Watershed (03030004).  The reach I visited was near a poultry processing plant and was very clear with a deep steady flow.  I spotted a school of these fish centering their activity near a tall grass lined edge.  I was able to make my presentation without them discovering me and they cooperated nicely!  The drift of the micro-baited Tanago hook was intercepted decisively nearly every time.  In an attempt to make sure no other species were present, I presented to a few individual fish away from the school, but they were all Dusky Shiners.  A handsome addition to the list.

Leave a Reply

