California Contrasts

My work took me into Northern California this week.   One meeting was in Eureka, along the cool northern coast.  My drive from Eureka was south along the Eel River.  That afternoon drive gave me an opportunity to explore a few tributary creeks.  Salmon Creek flows pristinely east to the Eel and it was here that I found a new species for me, the California Roach, Lavinia symmetricus

The few pictures I took of the fish before releasing it have the Micro Madness background as I’m registered in a three month Micro fishing competition hosted by Non Traditional Fishing.

The balance of my trip was centered around Sacramento.  I found one evening to poke around outside the city and discovered this irrigation ditch, one of thousands, which did not look promising at all.  Surprisingly, I did find the tough Hitch, Lavinia exilicauda, surviving in the poor quality water .  This fish can actually grow to 14″ I learned.  It is a California Native that is losing ground due to the loss of spawning water,

Leave a Reply

