Micro-fishing Line Spool

I like to collapse my Soyokaze rod and keep my line attached to the tip while moving between fishing spots.  I have been using a piece of foam cut from a meat packing tray to wind the line onto, though light, it is a bit awkward with no means to attach it to the rod.  It tends to flop around while walking and also does not secure the collapsed rod sections to keep the tip section from accidently being exposed and broken.  I’ve been studying the spools designed for Tenkara fishermen for this same purpose and decided it was time to make my own after this style.

My micro-fishing setup typically includes a small float, some indicator beads and maybe a small split shot for weight.  I wondered if these might present some challenges for this system as a Tenkara line is “clean”of these hindrances.

I have a small wood lathe in the shop that I use to make game calls, flutes, bowls etc. and also had a few scraps of wood flooring left over from building our house.  This Chilean Cherry made a nice proto-type spool which I’ll take with me on my next trip.  The small float etc. on the line seem to do fine.  A couple design changes are already logged for the next version.

I believe it will work just fine for my micro-fishing and I also think it could serve the Tenkara fishermen as well.

4 thoughts on “Micro-fishing Line Spool

  1. Arlan, that is absolutly beautiful. I hesitate to suggest any changes, but if you had more notches, strategically placed, you could wind your line so that your float was positioned in one of the cut-outs.

    Reply
    • Thanks Chris. I actually gave it a field trial this week in Ohio and it accomplished what I set out for it to do. I’ve been thinking about getting the float into one of the cutouts too! More notches is one way, but I think it might actually be easier just to move the float up or down the line to a position that works…… I really appreciate your thoughts and suggestions! – Arlan

      Reply
  2. TenkaraUSA makes a similar reel, of course (http://www.tenkarausa.com/product_info.php/products_id/68?osCsid=114d56d138ec067175327edc7ad3e95f). The hook/fly is placed into a notch, the line is wrapped around the spool and then wedged between the spool and and a ring of foam. You have metal rings for your hook/fly, but how then is the end of the line fastened onto or into the spool to keep it from unraveling? Would you consider selling some of these to a Tenkara angler who might prefer a piece of gear slightly more elegant than a piece of blue plastic?

    Reply
    • Thanks for visiting the site and taking a look at the spool. I studied photos of many and various Tenkara line spools, including the blue plastic one, in deciding on my approach. My intention was to use the small “V” notches on opposite ends to secure the tag end of the line. This will work fine, however, on this prototype, I made the notches a bit too wide and open. They hold the line, but not as securely as I would like. I believe a slit will be more effective and secure. Using wood, one has to consider the grain of the wood and strength of each component, so I’m limited a bit on configuration and location of “slits”! Mine was made for my micro-fishing line and a different configuration may be needed for securing the end of a Tenkara line. If one uses the spool to manage a line still attached to the lilian of the rod, then it would seem that the “tag end security” is less of an issue as it is held between the rod and the center hole of the spool.

      My intent with this prototype is to develop a functioning concept in wood that will then allow me to refine it more artistically and give me a “palette” for the carving I also enjoy. I’ll contact you to discuss your request. Thanks again for your interest. – Arlan

      Reply

Leave a Reply

