Blackbanded Darter from the Blackwater River system….

A while back I bought an aluminum fishing boat from my wife’s uncle’s estate.  It had been setting in a barn for 20 years and had been used very little.  I just got it back from having the carburetor rebuilt and wanted to get it in the water yesterday, but the wind was howling…..

Instead, I made a trip to the black waters of Negro Creek which is part of the Blackwater River drainage here in Lower Alabama.  There I found a new species for me, the Blackbanded Darter (Percina nigrofasciata).  I caught three different fish and released them before they disappeared.  They are feisty little guys with a dramatic color pattern, though not as brightly colored as some darters.

Leave a Reply

